Welcome to Rivers State University Teaching Hospital

The Rivers State University Teaching Hospital (RSUTH) formally Braithwaite Memorial Specialist Hospital (BMSH) is a government-owned hospital, was named after Eldred Curwen Braithwaite, a British doctor and a pioneer of surgery. It is located in Old GRA, Rivers State and was transformed into a state-of-the-art Teaching Hospital by State Governor His Excellency, Chief Barr. Nyesom Ezenwo Wike CON for the training of medical students and other health professionals from the Rivers State University in the year 2018.

BMH, was established in March 1925 as a Nursing Home and originally served as a medical facility for the Colonial Masters and senior civil servants. It later became a General Hospital and has since gained status as a “Specialist Health Institution” before it was upgraded to serve as University Teaching Hospital for the College of Medical Services of the Rivers State University.

The hospital is ranked among the largest hospitals in the Niger Delta. The facility has 375 beds capacity. Its departments include Medicine, Paediatrics, Laboratories, Radiology, Family Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Anaesthesia, Surgery, Chemical Pathology, Haematology & Blood Transfusion, Medical Microbiology, Anatomical Pathology, Ophthalmology, Accident and Emergency. Some other departments are Pharmacy, Finance, Maintenance, and General Administration. It has accreditation in most of the Clinical department for the training of resident doctors.

The hospital is a project site for numerous infrastructures under the current administration of His Excellency, Amaopusenibo Sir Siminalayi Fubara GSSRS, Governor of Rivers State.

“To be a healthcare citadel providing premium services through innovation, best practices, relevant research, and training”

  • To provide last mile access to quality healthcare: (prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of patient).
  •  To save lives in a work environment where everyone counts and matters.
  •  To strengthen partnership with allied institutions and our community in advancing excellence in healthcare provision.
  •  To save lives by promoting quality clinical research and excellence on existing and emerging human illness/diseases.

C – Compassionate patient care.
L – Loyalty and integrity.
E – Excellence and innovation.
A – Accountable and prudent resource management.
R – Respect and collegiality.

Board Members